Wednesday, February 15, 2012

ISML 2012: Homura, Mikoto, Yuki, Shana cruise in Prelims

ISML 2012: Homura, Mikoto, Yuki, Shana cruise in Prelims

By JR Salazar (Bongaboi)
February 15, 2012

The usual suspects in the International Saimoe League have constant voting power that does not waver. An example of this: Match Day 2 of the Preliminaries, with familiar faces winning big.

In Stella 1, Mikoto Misaka was first with 5371 votes. Hecate was second with 2545 votes. Index Librorum Prohibitorum was third with 2542 votes.

Haruhi Suzumiya is not the face of Haruhi Suzumiya. That honor belongs to Yuki Nagato who dominated Stella 2 with 4783 votes. Konata Izumi was second with 2923 votes, while Mafuyu Shiina was third with 2460 votes.

K-ON! is a series whose relevance still rings true, and Azusa Nakano is a testament to that, earning 4974 votes to finish first in Stella 3. Shinobu Oshino was second with 3190 votes, while Tsumugi Kotobuki was third with 2266 votes.

Shana, a favorite by the Bedlam on Baltic Avenue to win the 2012 ISML crown, took the first step by finishing first in Stella 4 wit 5422 votes. Kagami Hiiragi was second with 3127 votes, while Kuroko Shirai was third with 2746 votes.

Taiga Aisaka is another veteran that is well-prepared to face the new faces from the Nova Division. She steamrolled past everyone in Stella 5 with 5360 votes. Holo was second with 2995 votes and Ritsu Tainaka came in third with 2279 votes.

Hinagiku Katsura is, without a doubt, the strongest character from Hayate the Combat Butler and her performance in  Stella 6 is an example, winning 4105 votes. Illyasviel von Einzbern was second with 3367 votes and Kyou Fujibayashi was third with 2849 votes.

With battle-tested veterans must come ambitious newcomers with potential. One of those: Victorique de Blois, although she is technically a veteran due to her participation last season. De Blois amassed 3886 votes in Nova 7. In second was Kurisu Makise with 3542 votes. Kanon Nakagawa was third with 2938 votes.

In Nova 8, another young veteran in Kirino Kousaka dominated a Nova group with 4118 votes. Aria Holmes Kanzaki was second with 3752 votes. Shouko Kirishima was third with 2862 votes.

Kobato Hasegawa is a new face that will be set to shine in the ISML. Hasegawa finished first in Nova 9 with 4244 votes. Mato Kuroi was second with 4042 votes, while Elucia de Lute Irma was third with 2913 votes.

The face of the hit show Guilty Crown is Inori Yuzuriha, and she won 3813 votes to finish first in Nova 10. Irisviel von Einzbern was second with 2885 votes, while Ayase Aragaki finished third with 2622 votes.

In Nova 11, Sena Kashiwazaki states her case to challenge the veterans, winning 4113 votes to finish first. Riko Mine was a distant second, securing just 2611 votes, while Haruna was a disappointing third, with only 2560 votes.

Homura Akemi, however, may go down as the biggest threat to come out of the Nova division, and the memory of her first-round defeat in the 2channel Anime Saimoe Tournament has stoked the flames for a shot at revenge. However, the Preliminaries take first priority this early in the Saimoe season, and Akemi won 3723 votes to finish first in Nova 12. Asami Iwasawa was second with 3123 votes. Haqua du Lot Herminium was third with 2983 votes.

Preliminary Period action in the 2012 International Saimoe League rolls on with Match Day 3, scheduled for February 16, 2012. Vote for your favorite candidates at and join the ongoing debate.
Post a Comment