Friday, June 22, 2012

ISML 2012: Shana wins Necklace match, but Ruri wins Amethyst

ISML 2012: Shana wins Necklace match, but Ruri wins Amethyst

Dark horse Ikaros takes Amethyst Brooch

By JR Salazar (Bongaboi)
June 22, 2012

It has a been a great day for Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai. Despite finishing third in the Necklace Match with 1,852 votes, Ruri Gokou had a superior regular season finish and that worked to her advantage, as she recorded a score of 44.025 to claim the Amethyst Necklace, a symbol of the moon.

Shana won the Necklace match with 1,948 votes but did not have a strong-enough regular season to threaten the Kuroneko, managing just a 43.740 in the calculation to finish third.

Yuki Nagato recorded 1,867 votes but only earned a score of 42.277 to finish fourth. Taiga Aisaka was second in the entire calculation with 43.987 after recording 1,695 votes. Saber was in fifth place with 41.616 poiints after earning 1,700 votes. Eucliwood Hellscythe was sixth with 39.294 points after earning 1,810 votes. Yui was dead last, managing a 33.032 score after snagging a paltry 755 votes.

"This was a good day for me and Kirino and I hope this serves Kyousuke well," said Gokou at a victory rally in Tokyo with fiancee Kyousuke Kousaka. "Winning the necklace match is not enough. Having a well-rounded effort in the regular season while not losing too much in the finale helped me earn this.

"I would like to thank you wonderful fans for your support, and I hope this boosts my chances of winning the Tiara."

Kousaka won her exhibition, easily defeating Victorique de Blois 3090-2410. Rin Tosaka was third with 2,358 points, Kotomi Ichinose was fourth with 1,495 points, Minatsu Shiina managed 916 votes to finish fifth, Tsugumi scored 812 to finish sixth, and Hisui was last with 247 votes.

Dark Horse Ikaros, who was picked as a 10-1 longshot by the Bedlam on Baltic Avenue to win the Amethyst Brooch, edged Holo 2192-2075. Nagi Sanzen'in finished a disappointing third with 1,929 votes. Fear Kubrick was fourth with 1,346 votes, Shiori Shiomiya was fifth with 1,283 votes, Kanade Suzutsuki was xith with 1,209 votes and Minami Shimada held the rear with 1,027 votes.

A number of other exhibitions took place. The disappointing run for K-ON's big guns continued when Haruhi Suzumiya defeated Mio Akiyama 3,899-3,592. Sakura Matou was a distant third with 1,1078 votes. Ruiko Saten was fourth with 1,064 voted, Flower was fifth with 753, Yakumo Tsukamoto was sixth with 571 and Miki Hanabishi was last with 226.

The loss for the K-ON! top brass was a gain for the not-so-important characters of the series when Ritsu Tainaka scored a rare ISML victory, a 3,323-1,965 pounding of Ayumi Takahara. Kazari Uiharu was third with 1,758 votes, Teletha Testarossa was fourth with 1,411 votes, Kohaku was fifth with 844 votes, Tenma Tsukamoto was sixth with 746 and Chachamaru Karakuri was last with 437.

Wrapping up the exhibitions...Dalian grounded Yin 5362-3333, Kobato Hanato defeated Tsurara Oikawa 4939-3926, Hinata Hakamada prevailed over Ayu Tsukimiya 4666-4255, and Hyouka didn't leave a very good first impression as Ariel and Chris from Kore wa Zombie Desu Ka easily defeated Eru Chitanda and Mayaka Ibara 5477-4518. It will be interesting to see whether or not Hyouka will return to a future match after this sorry performance.

Match Day 1 of the 2012 International Saimoe League Ruby Necklace Phase is scheduled for July 1, 2012. Vote for your favorite candidates at and join the ongoing debate.

Also, keep it right here on the Bedlam on Baltic Avenue and for continuing coverage of the 2012 International Saimoe League!

TOP 16, Nova Division
1. Kanade Tachibana (AQ)
2. Eucliwood Hellscythe
3. Yuri Nakamura
4. Ruri Gokou (AM)
5. Yui
6. Kirino Kousaka
7. Charlotte Dunois
8. Sena Kashiwazaki
9. Aria Holmes Kanzaki
10. Victorique De Blois
11. Kobato Hasegawa
12. Erio Touwa
13. Mato Kuroi
14. Inori Yuzuriha
15. Kurisu Makise
16. Yozora MIkazuki

TOP 16, Stella Division
1. Shana
2. Taiga Aisaka
3. Saber
4. Yuki Nagato
5. Mikoto Misaka (C)
6. Mio Akiyama
7. Haruhi Suzumiya
8. Azusa Nakano
9. Hinagiku Katsura
10. Hitagi Senjougahara
11. Nadeko Sengoku
12. Yui Hirasawa
13. Shinobu Oshino
14. Rin Tosaka
15. Louise Francoise Le Blanc De La Valliere
16. Mikuru Asahina
Post a Comment