Saturday, January 05, 2013

North Dakota State: 2012 NCAA Division I FCS National Champions

BRAG AND CHAT ABOUT IT HERE: Big second half lifts North Dakota State to second straight national title

FRISCO, Texas -- Make it back-to-back national championships for North Dakota State.

The Bison put together a dominating second half and took advantage of three interceptions to take a 39-13 victory over Sam Houston State. Before a partisan Bison crowd of 21,411, the Division I Football Championship Subdivision title was the 10th title in school history.

NDSU is the first FCS repeat champ since Appalachian State won three straight from 2005-07.

The Bison scored two touchdowns in the third quarter to break a 10-10 halftime tie.

Carlton Littlejohn's interception led to a one-yard touchdown run by Brock Jensen to make it 17-10. Then, after NDSU held Sam Houston on a fourth-and-3 thanks to pressure by defensive end Kyle Emanuel, Sam Ojuri scored from two yards out.

NDSU converted a two-point conversion when kicker Adam Keller, after a botched snap, hit Mike Hardie for a 25-10 advantage.

Brock Jensen scored on a one-yard run and Ojuri had an 11-yarder for another score in the fourth quarter.

Post a Comment