Friday, August 16, 2013

Such...pleasure, it is.

dakimakura (抱き枕?) (from daki (抱き?) "to embrace or cling" and makura (?) "pillow"), also called Dutch wife, is a type of large pillow from Japan. The word is often translated in English simply as "hug pillow". In Japan, dakimakura are similar to Western orthopedic body pillows, and are commonly used by Japanese youth as "security objects".
In the West, "dakimakura" is associated with a love pillow. Love pillows are a subset of dakimakura and a type of inflatable sex toy. They usually have life-size pictures ofanime characters or pornographic film actors, often in suggestive poses.
During the 1990s, dakimakura began to intertwine with otaku culture, leading to the production of pillow covers featuring printed images of bishōjo and bishonen from various anime or Bishōjo game. Many of these early otaku dakimakura covers were released through Cospa, a character goods and apparel store which continues to release officialdakimakura covers to this day.
Although sometimes called a Dutch wife, the original definition of this phrase is closer to the chikufujin.

ISML 2013: All coming to a head in Topaz

ISML 2013: All coming to a head in Topaz

By JR Salazar
August 16, 2013

Just one more match day in the regular season is about to take place after six match day in the 2013 International Saimoe League Topaz Necklace Period. Mashiro Shiina continues to lead the Nova Division and Eucliwood Hellscythe remains in control of the Stella, but will they remain at the top after Match Day 7?

Here is a round-up of Match Day 6 in the ISML Topaz Necklace Period.


In the Nova Division, Nanami Aoyama defeated Nyarlathotep 4269-3614, Mashiro Shiina routed Rea San 5557-2386, Kobato Hasegawa ran past Fuuko Kurasaki 4956-2958, Erio Touwa prevailed over Shouko Kirishima 3842-3737, Shinka Nibutani was all over Ririchiyo Shirakiin 4615-3331 and Rin Natsume won a 3773-3723 nailbiter over Aria Holmes Kanzaki.

Inori Yuziriha blew past Sena Kashiwazaki 4797-3440, Eru Chitanda leveled Yozora Mikazumi 4796-3179, Kuroyukihime flew past Homura Akemi 5377-2692, Momo Beila Deviluke cruised past Noumi Kudryvka 4352-2963, Shinobu Oshino whipped past Tsukihi Araragi 3906-2907 and Meiko Honma rolled past Mikan Yuuki 4617-3176.

Wrapping up Nova play...Asuna Yuuki dismissed Yui Kotegawa 5238-2836, Kurisu Makise defeated Karuta Roromiya 3962-3853, Rikka Takanashi obliterated Subaru Konoe 5535-2527, Touka Takanashi made it a sweep for the sister with a 4339-3525 thumping of Mei Misaki, Keiko Ayano defeated Karen Araragi 4311-3468 and Yui stormed past Suguha Kirigaya 4679-2725.


In the Stella Division, Haruhi Suzumiya dominated Masami Iwasawa 4593-3294, Taiga Aisaka roared past Nymph 5647-2520, Azusa Nakano romped past Holo 5032-2864, Illyasviel von Einzbern edged Tomoyo Sakagami 3876-3773, Saber slashed past Charlotte Dunois 4605-3213 and Yuki Nagato rolled past C.C. 4774-3010.

Kirino Kousaka defeated Mio Akiyama 4328-3752, Mikoto Misaka electrocuted Yuri Nakamura 4756-3823, Ruri Gokou ran past Konata Izumi 6116-1940, Nadeko Sengoku won the Upset of the Round: 4061-3533 over Louise Francoise Le Blanc De La Valliere, Kyou Fujibayashi defeated Mato Kuroi 4352-3559 and Hinagiku Katsura prevailed over Last Order 4204-4028.

Wrapping up Stella play, defending champion Kanade Tachibana sliced and diced Ayase Aragaki 5052-3390, Nagisa Furukawa stunned Hitagi Senjougahara 4035-3466, Eucliwood Hellscythe silenced Ui Hirasawa 5464-2653, Konjiki no Yami whipped past Rin Tosaka 4339-3351, Yui Hirasawa rocked Victorique de Blois 4254-3554 and Shana won the closest race of the night: a 4235-4189 thriller over Yui-nyan.

The ISML will be wise to not give the Precures another exhibition to get stomped in, because that's what happened in this exhibition, Michiru Morishita and Reika Houjou routed Itsuki Myoudouin and Reika Aoki 5054-1373, effectively rendering the Precure franchise as irrelevant to the interests of the voters taking part.

Match Day 7 of the 2013 International Saimoe League Topaz Necklace Period is scheduled for Sunday, August 18, 2013. Vote for your favorite candidates at and join the ongoing debate.