Wednesday, February 05, 2014

ISML 2014: Another massive turnout in Preliminaries action

ISML 2014: Another massive turnout in Preliminaries action

By JR Salazar
February 5, 2014

It was another massive turnout in the International Saimoe League as Match Day 2 of the 2014 ISML Preliminaries took place. The familiar faces took the top spots in the Nova and Stella Division Groups. Here is a roundup of the action.


Rikka Takanashi had a strong showing last season and this could be her last as a member of the Nova Division after winning Nova Group 1 with 6045 votes. In second was Yukino Yukinoshita (3958) and Shiori Shiomiya was third (2586 votes). Rounding out the order were Noire (2437 votes), Tomoko Kuroki (2198 votes), Chisaki Hiradaira (1903) and Karen Kujou (1622 votes).

Kuroyukihime's last season in the Nova is expected to be the 2014 campaign after steamrolling through Nova Group 2 with 5650 votes. Sanae Dekomori was second with 3360 votes and Mikasa Ackerman was third (3235 votes). Rounding out the order were Leticia Draculair (2827 votes), Nepgear (2454 votes), Tamako Kitashirakawa (2094 votes) and Ryuuko Matoi (1901 votes).

Asuna Yuuki's also expected to move up to the Stella Division after this season. She won Nova Group 3 with 5740 votes. Karuta Roromiya was second with 3025 votes and Kyouko Sakura was third with 2908 votes. Rounding out the order were Yukina Himeragi (2647 votes), Charlotte Beler (2641 votes), Kyouko Kirigiri (2612 votes) and Maki Nishikino (1616 votes).

Nanami Aoyama is another character set to be promoted to the Stella Division after winning 4035 votes to take Nova Group 4. Kurousagi was second with 3938 votes and Suguha Kirigaya was  third with 3898 votes. Rounding out the order were Frenda Seivelun (2529 votes), Akatsuki (2410 votes), Cthugha (2212 votes) and Morgiana (2081 votes).

Aside from the heavyweights in Date A Live, Henneko's Tsukiko Tsutsukakushi is one of the stronger new faces to burst on to the scene. Riding the coattails of a strong showing at 2channel AST last year, she wins Nova group 5 with 5243 votes. Eru Chitanda was second with 4490 votes and Haqua du Lot Herminium was third with 3237 votes. Rounding out the order were Misaki Shokuhou (2902 votes), Chocholat (2582 votes), You Kasukabe (1524 votes) and Komari Koshigaya (1317 votes).

All signs point to promotion for Shinka Nibutani after winning Nova Group 6 with 4898 votes, edging Touka Yatogami and her 4857 votes. Mei Misaki was third with 3054 votes. Rounding out the order were Myucel Foaran (2487 votes), Masuzu Natsukawa (2080 votes), Iona (1935 votes) and Gou Matsuoka (1580 votes).


Azusa Nakano is a consistent contender in the Stella Division, and her 5068 votes to win Stella Group 7 are a testament to that. Saber was second with 4342 votes and Homura Akemi was third with 3045 votes. Rounding out the order were Nadeko sengoku (2814 votes), Shinku (2049 votes), Mafuyu Shiina (1947 votes) and Ryou Fujibayashi (1655 votes), who is eliminated from the tournament.

Taiga Aisaka is slated to return to the show after winning Stella Group 8 with 5547 votes. Yuki Nagato was second with 3550 votes and Subaru Konoe was third with 3265 votes. Rounding out the order are Shouko Kirishima (3257 votes), Sakura Kinomoto (2442 votes), Kurimu Sakurano (1681 votes) and Fate Testarossa (1412 votes), who leaves the tournament after just two days.

A wide-open race in Stella Group 9 saw Yuri Nakamura win 4229 votes to finish first. Kobato Hasegawa was second with 4110 votes. Shinobu Oshino was third with 4044 votes and rounding out the order were Kuroko Shirai (3412 votes), Rin tosaka (3306 votes), Suigintou (1761 votes) and Misuzu Kamio (828 votes), who didn't even break into quadruple figures in her exit from the tournament.

Yui-nyan was first in Stella Group 10 with her 4199 votes. Sora Kasugano was second in the group with 3872 votes while Charlotte Dunois was third with 3636 votes. Rounding out the order were Kirino Kousaka (3481 votes), Victorique de Blois (2708 votes), Ushio Okazaki (2120 votes) and Sakura Matou (1418 votes), who is out of the tournament.

Mio Akiyama, a former winner of this tournament, took one step towards another season in the main draw after winning Stella Group 11 with 4490 votes. Inori Yuzuriha was second with 4215 votes and Illyasviel von Einzbern was third with 3456 votes. Rounding out the order were Ruiko Saten (2826 votes), Tomoyo Sakagami (2629 votes), Haruna (2388 votes) and Evangeline A.K. McDowell (1565 votes), who is eliminated from the competition.

One of the characters in the ISML that is akin to the Buffalo Bills of the National football League in terms of futility is Shana. Now she won Stella Group 12 with 5064 votes, but if she does qualify for the main draw, can this be her year? Sena Kashiwazaki was second with 4796 votes and Mato Kuroi was third with 3146 votes. Rounding out the order were Nagisa Furukawa (2780 votes), Ikaron (2608 votes), Tsumugi Kotobuki (2324 votes) and Amu Hinamori (800 votes), whose ISML run is finished.

Match Day 3 of the 2014 International Saimoe League Preliminaries is scheduled for February 6, 2014. Will there be another big turnout, for a third straight match day? Count on it! Vote for your favorite candidates at and join the ongoing debate.
Post a Comment