Monday, December 07, 2015

ISML 2015: Kanade Tachibana Re-Elected Saimoe Leader Of The Free World!

ISML 2015: Kanade Tachibana Re-Elected Saimoe Leader Of The Free World
Accelerator elected Deputy Saimoe Leader, Nao Tomori overall Diadem winner

By Jo-Ryan Salazar
The Bedlam on Baltic Avenue
December 7, 2015

In a decisive scoreline that surprised no one, and in a turnout that was underwhelming, Kanade Tachibana of the Angel Beats! Party was re-elected Saimoe Leader Of The Free World for a second term after routing Ruri Gokou 6217-4813. Despite losing to Hachiman Hikigaya in his consolation match 5587-5146, Kanade's husband Yuzuru Otonashi had nothing but praise for his wife.

"My wife was a great leader before and she will do it all over again next year," Otonashi said. "She has my full support and the support of the world. Our world, now more than ever, needs united, and today, you saw that the world stands united in electing an angel as the Saimoe Leader Of The Free World. She will not disappoint you. I guarantee it, because I will see to it that happens as her husband."

"I want to thank all the people who missed seeing me compete in this competition," said Tachibana, holding her son Kazero. "I owe it to you all to keep faith alive, keep hope alive, and to never give up when the going gets tough. Love the ones you're with, the ones who love you back. Solidarity is the ultimate strength and the key to overcoming your darkest hours. Don't be afraid of the future. Embrace it and take flight. I love you all and I look forward to leading the new Saimoe Government next year. We'll do our best."

Mikoto Misaka was third place after defeating Eru Chitanda 5906-5364 and in the other Scepter Ranking matches, Archer defeated Sora 5784-4865 and Seiya Kanie rolled past Edward Elric 5516-4863. Accelerator will be the Deputy Saimoe Leader of the Free World after defeated Koyomi Araragi 5643-5433.

"It feels good to be the king of the world and be a great assistant and right hand person to an angel," a victorious Accelerator said, being doted by Last Order, his fiancee (she is not old enough to marry Accelerator yet). "Last Order said that I hold all the cards, and I believed her. Now that I am on top, I hope I won't have to do this stupid tournament anymore and I can try my hand at stopping terrorism around the world.

"Thanks for your support. It's going to be a hella good time bringing hell to those who want to send hell on the innocent! Hell yeah!"

A further Tiara Ranking round was made to classify the best eight not to win the Heavenly Tiara. Kosaki Onodera won one of the rounds with 4346 votes. Yui Yuigahama won 3231 votes, Kurisu Makise won 2354 votes and Saber won 2197 votes. In the other Tiara Ranking round, Chiyo Sakura won 3245 votes to finish first. Asuna Yuuki was second with 3124 votes, Nanami Aoyama was third with 2929 votes and Yoshino held up the rear with 2803 votes.

In a series of exhibitions, Nodoka Haramura routed Saki Miyanaga 5142-3819, Killua Zoldyck won the closest race of the round, a 4928-4845 decision over Sougo Okita, Kyouko Kirigiri belted Akane Tsunamori 5441-4798 amd Rurutia slaughtered Yuriko Kougami 5428-4042.

In the Seasonal Runners-Up Final, Iroha Isshiki recorded the Upset Of The Round, a 5473-2951 win over Umaru Doma. Kougou was third with 2464 votes and Sakurako Kujou held up the rear with 1968 votes. Nao Tomori was the overall Seasonal Champion, earning 5301 votes. Megumi Katou was second with 2813 votes, Isla was third with 1966 votes and Mitsuki Nase was last with 1696 votes. Tomori is projected to be an early favorite to contend for honors in the Nova Division next season.

This concludes the 2015 International Saimoe League Season. Keep it right here on The Bedlam on Baltic Avenue for continuing coverage of the International Saimoe League, the world's premier anime character competition, and be sure to debate on next year's edition on This is the ISML on the Bedlam!

Portland Timbers: 2015 MLS Cup Champions

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Before the 2015 MLS Cup final, Portland Timbers coach Caleb Porter wrestled with the question of whether he believed in destiny, ultimately deciding that hard work begets success.
As it turned out, his team's hard work earned them their first-ever MLS Cup in thrilling – and, at times, controversial – fashion.
After opening with the fastest goal in the event's 20-year history, the Timbers held on to a 2-1 advantage on Sunday against Columbus Crew SC at MAPFRE Stadium to become the 10th MLS team and first Cascadia club to win MLS Cup. Portland joined MLS as an expansion team in 2011, becoming champions in their fifth season in the league.
 The Timbers completed an incredible run to raise MLS Cup, ascending from below the red line on Oct 3 to finish third in the Western Conference. They then survived an 11-round penalty shootout against Sporting KC in the Knockout Round, blanked the Vancouver Whitecaps, 2-0, in the conference semifinal and handled No. 1 seed FC Dallas in the Conference Championship.
A stunning misplay by Crew SC goalkeeper Steve Clark in the opening minute, a bad touch taking him across his own goal under pressure, put Columbus behind just 27 seconds into the game as Diego Valeri, who was named MLS Cup MVP, slid in to redirect the Clark's clearance into an empty net. The home team spent more than 89 minutes desperately trying to recover.
It took just six minutes for Portland to double their lead, via a play that Crew SC players and fans believed should have been blown dead.
 In an attempt to find Alvas Powell on the right sideline, Diego Chara appeared to play a pass out of bounds. The ball popped out to Tony Tchani, who took a few touches toward the sideline, ostensibly to set up a Columbus throw-in. But the whistle didn’t blow, and Darlington Nagbe chased the ball down, reversing direction in front of Tchani before playing wide to Lucas Melano, whose one-touch cross found Rodney Wallace for a diving header past Clark in the center of the box.
In the 17th minute, Crew SC got one back. Justin Meram crossed to Kei Kamara, who bodied defender Nat Borchers and screened Portland goalkeeper Adam Kwarasey. With Kwarasey on the ground, Kamara fought for the loose ball, pivoted and shot through Powell’s legs on the goal line.
The game proved an up-and-down affair thereafter, with both teams creating chances, though Portland had a pair of heart-stopping hits off the woodwork.

In the 60th, a Timbers corner found Wallace on the right side of the box, where his shot snuck through. Michael Parkhurst headed it off the line – into Kamara, who flailed while falling backward, kicking the ball against the underside of the crossbar, hitting Parkhurst's arm and the right post before Columbus cleared.
Just 10 minutes later, Jorge Villafana arced a cross to Fanendo Adi, who headed the ball while moving back and to his left, sending the ball into the right post. It ricocheted into a trailing Clark, who couldn't corral ball but knocked it out along the end line.
Columbus' best chance of the second half came in the 77th minute, when Harrison Afful chipped a cross toward Federico Higuain in the area, where the Argentinian one-touched it over his head out of the air – just past Jack McInerney's attempted header.
Clark kept Crew SC's late hopes alive with a reflex save in the 81st minute, trapping a Borchers header between his legs just in front of the line. Columbus pressed forward for an equalizer, but couldn't put any threatening attempts on target.
Crew SC become the second MLS team to lose the Cup final while playing at home, joining the 2002 New England Revolution, who fell to the LA Galaxy at Gillette Stadium.
The Timbers are the third expansion team to win MLS Cup, following in the footsteps of the Chicago Fire (1998) and Real Salt Lake (2009).