ISML 2018: Mashiro Shiina Wins Topaz Necklace

ISML 2018: Mashiro Shiina Wins Topaz Necklace
Hachiman Hikigaya Takes Topaz Pendant

By Jo-Ryan Salazar
The Bedlam On Baltic Avenue
August 1, 2018

There were no surprises on Match Day 11 of the 2018 International Saimoe League Topaz Period. As tipped by the Bedlam on Baltic Avenue, Mashiro Shiina won the Topaz Necklace and Hachiman Hikigaya took home the Topaz Pendant. Shiina garnered 10022 votes, compared to Shouko Nishimiya's 9503. Rounding out the order were Yukino Yukinoshita (3154), Asuna Yuuki (2410), Kamui Kanna (1951), Rin Tohsaka (1514), Illyasviel von Einzbern (1056) and Tooru (751).
Hikigaya routed Archer 10380-6283 in a landslide victory. Rounding out the order were Taki Tachibana (4254), Takashi Natsume (3066), Kiyotaka Ayanokouji (2428), Riku Dola (1502), Gilgamesh (1260) and Shirou Emiya (955). In another set of expected victories, Saimoe Leader of the Free World Mikoto Misaka hammered Mio Akiyama 13028-6830 while Sora slammed Lelouch Lamperouge 10013-8266.

Surviving the cut in for the Topaz Wildcard Female Division were Ram (8539), Iroha Isshiki (8294 votes), Kotori Minami (8203), Shiki Ryougi (8171), Suzune Horikita (8102) and Diamond (7989) and for the Topaz Wildcard Male Division, Inuyasha (6505), Shizuo Heiwajima (6035), Ciel Phantomhive (6003), Son Goku (5827), Osami Dazai (5811) and Roy Mustang (5741).

In Bracket One of the Pets Tournament, Pikachu (7348), Doraemon (3973.23), Cerberus (3892.66) and Madara (3834.04) advanced while in Bracket Two, Puck (5887), Kyuubey (3369.36), Tippy (3434.88) and Shamisen (3322.63) moved on.

The eight making the cut in the Divine Circlet in the Female Devision were Phosphophyllite (7735), Shalltear Bloodfallen (7596), Miku Izayoi (7757), Albedo (7499), Chito (7458), Akame (8061), Hitagi Senjougahara (7889) and Kokomi Teruhashi (7662). Senjougahara is tipped to win the Divine Circlet by BoBA. For the Divine Crown, Yuuichirou Hyakuya (6883), Mikaela Hyakuya (7276), Yuuri Katsuki (6506), Alphonse Elric (7131), Tsunayoshi Sawada (6924), Erwin Smith (7131), All Might (7590), Sebastian Michaelis (7477), Yang Wenli (6346) and Ryouma Echizen (7166). Elric is tipped by the Bedlam to win the Crown.

Finally, in exhibition action, current Saimoe Prime Minister Megumi Katou scored the Upset of the Round, a 9418-8749 scalp of Kotori Itsuka, while Kanade Tachibana bounced back with a 8529-7288 victory over Eru Chitanda.

Match Day 1 of the 2018 International Saimoe League Amethyst Period is scheduled for August 2018. Vote for your favorite characters at and join the ongoing debate. And be sure to keep it here on the Bedlam on Baltic Avenue for ongoing coverage of the 2018 International Saimoe League, the world's premier anime character competition.